The Tapestried Chamber (Walter Scott)

“I thought the intrusion singular enough, but never harboured for a moment the idea that what I saw anything more than the mortal form of some old woman about the esblishment, who had a fancy to dress like her grandmother, and who, having perhaps (as your lordship mentioned that you were rather straitened for room) been dislodge from her chamber for my accommodation, had forgotten the circumstance, and returnindex.phped by twelve to her old haunt. Under this persuasion I moved myself in bed and coughed a little, to make the intruder sensible of my being in possession of the premises. She turned slowly round, but, gracious Heaven! My lord, what a countenance did she display to me! There was no longer any question what she was, or any thought of her being a living being. Upon a face which wore the fixed features of a corpse were imprinted the traces of the vilest and most hideous passions which had animated her while she lived. The body of some atrocious criminal seemed to have been given up from the grave, and the soul restored from the penal fire, in order to form for a space a union with the ancient accomplice of its guilt. I started up in bed, and sat upright, supporting myself on my palms, as I gazed on this horrible spectre. The hag made, as it seemed, a single and swift stride to the bed where I lay, and squatted herself down upon it, in precisely the same attitude which I had assumed in the extremity of horror, advancing her diabolical countenance within half a yard of mine, with a grin which seemed to intimate the malice and the derision of an incarnate fiend.”

Leia aqui o conto completo, em inglês

Sobre William Wilson

"Eu descendo de uma raça que se distinguiu, em todos os tempos, por um temperamento criativo e facilmente irritável; e que, desde a minha infância, provou que eu herdara por completo o caráter de minha família." Ver todos os artigos de William Wilson

Uma resposta para “The Tapestried Chamber (Walter Scott)

Deixe um comentário

